Although it didn’t come as a surprise laundry is the biggest
pain in the butt. I have never done laundry before in my life, my parents have
always done it for me. Leading up to college I knew I was going to have to do
it and I knew I would hate it. I used to always listen to my sister when she
would come home her freshman year, talk about how awful it was to lug all your
clothes down to the first floor, throw them in the washer and be on call for
the next hour. After the first week I decided that since I had run out of underwear
that it would be in my best interest to go down to the first floor and clean my
clothes. In my dorm we have six washers and eight dryers, most of them were
open and my first experience was a breeze. It only took thirty minutes to wash,
so for that time I just sat downstairs in the common room and talked to my dad,
who I hadn’t talked to since he dropped me off. Drying the clothes took a
little longer but the majority of the dryers were open so it wasn’t that bad. I
threw my clothes in and went back to my dorm and watched TV for an hour or so.
It wasn’t until my next trip when all went to hell. It was about a week later,
same time of day as the week before, again…. I ran out of undies. I waddled
down stairs carrying my cheap laundry basket that’s already falling apart after
two weeks. As I walk into the laundry room I stared down the only open washer I
saw and quickly got to it before someone else. I threw my tide pod in along
with my clothes and left to come back upstairs and finish watching a TV show.
As I was leaving I noticed that none of the dryers were open, but who cares? I
have thirty minutes by the time I come back down one will be open. Thirty
minutes pass and I make my way back down to the laundry room to find not one
dryer open, but many are done. A little annoyed I left my clothes in the washer
and made my way back up to my dorm. Ten minutes later I go back down to the
laundry room thinking “this is my time” there was definitely one open now…….NOPE,
Still the exact same clothes in the dryer. It’s been at least thirty minutes
since this persons clothes have been done and they are inconsiderate enough to
not come and get them. Many people take peoples clothes out and put them on the
little table for folding but personally I would rather not grab peoples
underwear and anything else they have in there. Finally on my third trip down a
dry was open and I quickly got it. An adventure that should have only been an
hour and a half was stretched out to three. From now on I will be waking up at
6 A.M. Saturday mornings to do my laundry.
.jpg)
Okay, I don't give As or Bs or whatever for these posts, but if I did, you would get an A just because of that picture!
ReplyDeleteGood post. Nice story telling. Maybe when you go to buy a new laundry basket you should buy more underwear, too?
Wow....Are you sure that you wanna wake up at 6AM to do the laundry? It is tough! You should just buy more clothes and underwear I think. The way you wrote is really interesting even though it was about laundry. I was really into your story telling.
ReplyDeleteI know the feeling man. My second time doing laundry i decided to do a little studying in an adjacent room. It took a total of fifteen minutes before someone felt that their laundry needs superseded mine and tried to take out my wet clothes. I caught the perp luckily in mid act, and glared. I like how you capture the frustration of making multiple trips to the laundry room for a relatively short task, but having it drag on. You have a really solid writing style, keep it up.
ReplyDelete