Friday, November 8, 2013

Last weekend was Halloween or Halloweekend, whatever you want to call it. Some people and I would be comfortable saying most people love Halloween, I am not one of those people. I do not dis like it I just find it a little annoying having to buy or think of a costume.
                Back in high school we never really had to dress up, not many people had costume parties and I stopped trick or treating when I was like 11. In college it feels like Halloween goes on for about a whole week. It’s actually only 4 nights, but that is still hard. No college student is proactive enough to think about their costumes a week or so in advance, it’s pretty much a decision that is made on that day. With a low budget and very little time it’s hard to think of a plausible costume, and especially me, because I don’t leave my room unless I’m at least an 8.5 on the hotness scale, which only happens on my most awful days.
                So you can’t think of a costume to make an easy fix is Halloween express. They have hundreds of different options you’re bound to find something. So I pull up, open the butterfly doors to my lambo, and slowly but surely swag walk my way in to Halloween Express. Right now I’m thinking of either being a school girl or anything that will show off my physique. So I’m standing there and I’m appalled, all the costumes or 4 digits, there is a decimal place in-between them but still $39.95-$50.95 is a little ridiculous for a costume, especially for the quality material these costumes are. Don’t get me wrong, daddy’s got stacks but I aint made of money.

                After some  long minutes of heavy thinking, I decided to go ahead and buy a priest costume because I mean what girl doesn’t love a priest.  I love going out and seeing what everyone else I wearing but the burden of thinking of costumes is just too much for my little brain to handle.

Friday, November 1, 2013

I know I may be a little late on this topic but I really dislike not having my car at school. Most people wrote about this in the first couple weeks, but it hasn’t really been until recently that it’s actually been bothering me. Even if my parents told me I could bring my car to school most likely I would decline. I drive a 1992 Buick Road Master station wagon with great wood paneling on the side. The burden of taking care of it would be a hassle. It averages a trip the shop just about every 4 months, which really isn’t too terrible, when I’m home, with my own mechanic, and my dad to pay and take care of it all. So remember that while I complain the rest of this post.
Being on such a small campus it’s nice to get off every now and then, whether it’s just spending the day out and about somewhere or going away to visit some friends one weekend. Since I began school in late August I have really only left Salem once (not counting food and Chipotle trips to Roanoke) and that was to go home for fall break.
My sister is a senior at Virginia Tech, which is only half an hour away, and one of my best friends goes to Washington and Lee which is about an hour away. For a while now I have been wanting to go visit them but finding a ride is extremely hard. My friend has invited me to many of his fraternity parties but of course, no ride.
One of my other good friends goes to Hampden- Sydney, about 2 hours away, and next weekend is supposed to be a pretty big weekend, there is even going to be a bounce house, don’t ask me why it just sounds dope, am I right? A lot of my friends from home will be there a long with my cousin who is the brother that I never really wanted and didn’t have. I haven’t seen him since before I left for school so seeing him next weekend would be great.

Along with these reasons my biggest argument is I need it for baseball. Come spring time I will have to find a ride every single day to and from practice. Being a pitcher we don’t have the same schedule as position players so the amount of possible rides was just reduced by 75% (our field is not on campus). But why wait until the spring, two days a week now I have to find a ride to EC for conditioning, and the other three days I’m supposed to go and throw at EC. Baseball wise I haven’t ran into any troubles, but some day the baseball gods will join with the Car/Transportation gods and strike down on me leaving me with only one way to get to the field and that is to walk, and on some real I aint really finna walk like 1.2 miles, that’s hella far am I right?